Disney World

Trader Sam’s Grog Grotto, Walt Disney World

 

1

When Trader Sam’s opened at Walt Disney world, I knew I had to visit! The Polynesian Village is my favourite resort, Adventureland is one of my favourite lands, and I love the tropical / tiki themes.

Last year I got the chance! Actually it was the night I was proposed to, in the evening he had made no plans as didn’t know what I would fancy. I then knew how I wanted to celebrate.

So we headed to the Polynesian and found the discreet door. You can not book tables, it is walk in only. As luck would have it, there was only one table left!

As soon as you walk in, you know it’s a different experience. Its not like the usual Disney World lounges. Its dark, there’s noises and everyone feels excitable.

The menu choices – the cocktails are all unusual, and sounded strong. We had two each, and I can confirm they are! I think they are mostly rum based drinks.

Another bonus point – if you pay a bit extra, you get to keep the glass! This is now my new collection.

So there is a lot going on in this small room, and most of it related to the drinks you order. For instance, the “views out of the windows” change when a tiki god is angered! I don’t want to give too much away as I think it’s a nice surprise for first time visitors!

But the cast members in there are great fun and clearly love the job!

The first time I had the Krakota Punch, and my fiancé had the Mosquito Mojito. Second round I had the Hippotomai-tai, and I’m sure my partner had a second Mojito.

2

 

I love it here, its just so different, and I feel like a kid on one of the attractions, looking all around and taking it all in.

3

When we went earlier this year, and had two nights in Disney before a cruise, we had to go back! Again we had a dinner before (Trader Sam’s does do food – bar snacks etc, but I’m there for the cocktails!), walked in, and two seats left, this time at the bar.

I knew which drinks we needed to have based on what glasses I wanted to add to the collection. My finace had the Shrunken Zombie head – which we was told is the strongest drink on the menu! I had the Polynesian Pearl – yummy!

4

If you are looking for a quiet relaxing drink, maybe skip Trader Sams, but if you want an interesting visual treat for adults only and decent drinks – give Trader Sam’s a go!

It’s one of my new favourite must do places!

5

 

Leave a Reply

